Why I Won’t Be Voting Conservative At The Next Election

IMG_3889.JPG

I would like to make a disclaimer: The Conservatives haven’t committed any unforgivable sin and I am not trying to fight God’s battles by not voting for them.

Most people see politicians the way teenage girls see the male population after the first guy breaks their heart: lying scumbags that don’t deserve to be trusted. Voting becomes a choice between drinking the poison that will cause the least amount of pain as it suck the life from you. I share these sentiments in the actuality of choosing between the candidates that are only willing to jump through hoops when it’s time to win my vote. I do, however have a way of distinguishing them. For me, it’s not about whether they’re willing to leave the EU or are against bankers bonuses, I make my vote based on the principles under which the combobulation of similar sounding proposals are based.

I will never vote Conservative because I can’t stand the: “we all have the opportunity to succeed, life is what you choose to make it so money must only be distributed to the most truly deserving of us all” attitude. I’m going to get a bit philosophical now, but I dare say that you do not deserve the talents that you possess anymore than I do.

I’m not saying anything new to everyone who was hoping to read something about Jesus and is wondering how they got roped into reading about politics. Moral of the story: life isn’t fair. We can’t all go to Oxford or Cambridge or RADA(Oxbridge for actors), we won’t all be tall enough to be models, we can’t all win Xfactor or become the CEO of Goldman Sachs. That is life, you might be better at Maths than me and I might have longer legs than you. (Lol, it’s very unlikely, I’m just over 5“) So where does that leave all of us who feel like we got a raw deal when God was handing out talents or deciding which families we’d be born into?

Then he [Jesus] sat down opposite the offering box, and watched the crowd putting coins into it. Many rich people were throwing in large amounts. And a poor widow came and put in two small copper coins, worth less than a penny. Mark 12:41-42

Nobody wants to be the poor widow who can’t throw wads of cash in the offering bowl. We all leave Uni and it becomes an unspoken race for securing grad schemes, earning ‘I can afford a mortgage’ money, and being able to say ‘I manage X amount of people.’ I’m not saying we shouldn’t strive for the best, and look forward to a life of financial stability and monthly outgoings that don’t leave a bruise from their pinch, but until then we aren’t justified to belittle our achievements thus far.

He called his disciples and said to them, “I tell you the truth, this poor widow has put more into the offering box than all the others.For they all gave out of their wealth. But she, out of her poverty, put in what she had to live on, everything she had.” Mark 12:43-44

It’s almost as if there’s a pinnacle in life where people say you’ve “made it” and until then you just have nothing to celebrate. But life is not so much about everyone knowing your name or being able to splash the cash wherever you go, as doing the most with the dice you’ve been rolled.

I guess this sounds pretty morbid, it’s not really meant to be. Some people are blessed with the agility to run a marathon and others with a mind that can comprehend quantum physics, that doesn’t mean the rest of us should feel disheartened. The skills and the talents you possess have already been decided, but the umph at which we pursue life is all in our hands.

I look around at all the success around me and feel so proud of the people who are “making it.” I hereby promise to myself and to God to not look down on the coppers in my purse; I’m determined to give life my very best shot.

Love Dani