The Art Of Not Straying From God

Baby-Leash

So I thought I’d start with the world’s worst kept secret: we all have 24 hours a day.

Nothing in life is fair but time distribution -the rarity that cannot be slowed down, banked or collected and that is fair. I read this scripture and I thought… ‘yeah I want to remain in God, I want him to  remain in me.. if only I could find the time to actually spend with him’.

Remain in me and I will remain in you.

John 15:4

Exercise for everybody:

Think about the last time you spent time with God.

Now I would say, listen closely, but seeing as this is an article and your ears aren’t actually involved in the process of digesting what I’m saying, I’m going to say read tentatively. I’m not after the last time you read your bible, sang a song, or absentmindedly mumbled a prayer.

When was the last time you took time out of your day to spend time in the presence of God?

We seek God daily and we ask him to reveal more of himself to us but without the time input how deep can we really get?

‘Remain in me’… Now that’s a command and for all of us who moved from year 2-3 you’ll notice that remain is a verb: a doing word. Just to spell it out, that means doing something! How can we expect Christianity to not feel like an uphill struggle when we’re trying to power through life without charging our batteries? You want to see the evidence that God is in your life, you’re going to have to work towards remaining in him.

I guess it’s all sounding a little tiresome but actions are what get things done. Thinking about the mountain won’t move the mountain. You’re going to have to use your faith and do something about it. There comes a time when we have to awake from the slumber of passivity and actively be the Christians we want to become.

Remain in God. 

Before you start with the lack of time excuse, scroll up. It takes time and energy to think about how you’re going to squeeze God into your day, but how about giving God you’re whole day? I’m not saying halt all the things you’re doing and use ‘remaining’ in God as an excuse for not turning up to work or graduating from Uni, I’m just asking you to begin to put God at the forefront of your mind.

Whenever we feel like God is distant and that we’ve lost connection, remember that it’s because we have strayed. ‘Remain in me and I’ll remain in you’ is a promise from God and if anyone is true to His word, it’s him.

Love DanDan X